A Little bit of information on IIFYM

So this is a big topic there is so much info about this on the web. Especially Instagram #iifym.
So what is iifym??? A diet?? Calorie counting?? Well, Yes, and No.
What you may not realize is everyone is on a diet, its the food you eat everyday. Calorie counting? In a sense. Its not eating cookies, and poptarts, all day. Its science approach to hitting your protein, carb and fat intake.
If you’re reading this and you’re not a robot, we all need a certain amount of calories our bodies need a day. If you go over that amount just by a little everyday it adds up. You will gain weight
(Not always a bad thing, when doing strength training or exercise, it will lead to muscle gain, Yes please!)
If you go under you will lose weight, but going severely under your calorie intake for long term will cause medical issues and you will run into metabolic damage.
IIFYM is about hitting your Protein, carbs, and fats. Its not really about eating X amount of Calories. With that being said you should stay within a specific caloric intake. Without focusing on just hitting your say “2,000 calorie limit”, and eating a high amount of empty calories. When I first began thats what I did, I would “calorie count” thinking I was doing IIFYM, but my fat would be WAY over, and my carbs, and protein were always lagging behind.
IIFYM is about fixing your relationship with “BAD” foods, and teaches you not to label food good or bad. Eat whatever you want to eat as long as you stay within your own required calorie/macro intake for the day.
Everyone is different, different metabolisms, different muscle mass and hundreds other things that set us apart from one another. This is where IIFYM comes into play. It looks at every person individually, looks at your activity level, and goals, with a made up stat of 95% certainty of how many calories to eat.
You can eat anything, whenever, morning or night
IIFYM is about hitting your Macronutrients, and Micronutrients.
Eat the foods you love, stay within your own personal macro nutrient range and burn fat without depriving yourself or feeling guilty for eating “Junk Food”
Look at food either Nutrient dense or Empty calories(Meaning it gives you energy just doesn’t really hit nutrients-Micros)
IIFYM is based on Science, a 15% reduction in calories is all that is needed to make your body a fat burning furnace.
I highly recommend starting IIFYM if you have a bad relationship with food.
That is the basic idea behind IIFYM
A lil about my experience with IIFYM
To get started download a calorie counting app, I use My Fitness Pal, Google IIFYM Calculator, figure out your TDEE and start tracking, I use the basic settings on my Fitness pal, then use the custom settings, and play with the numbers, the goal is to eat as much as you can while still achieving your goals, some do better with higher carbs, others need to lower their carb intake, so play with it, have fun, and say goodbye to feeling guilty about eating certain foods.I get real excited with this, because nothing is off limits. Before IIFYM I would actually under eat(unintentionally) I have been adding calories and losing weight, so I had to keep upping my intake, some days its hard to eat it all(What a problem, right??;), thats where poptarts or whatever you want comes into play!
Since starting IIFYM my energy level, and muscle strength has thrived! SO happy if you have questions leave comments below! I’ll be making a YouTube soon, to post workout videos, follow my instagram! @Sarahcookfitness

One thought on “A Little bit of information on IIFYM

  1. Stacy Williams says:

    What an awesome start to your blog!!!! I can’t wait for more to come Sarah !!!! very informative info on the micro and macro it’s still confusing somewhat . I’m so greatful to have met you on IG!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

